• You need to be a registered member of Barbel Fishing World to post on these forums. Some of the forums are hidden from non-members. Please refer to the instructions on the ‘Register’ page for details of how to join the new incarnation of BFW...

Up or down, tight or slack ?

Ian Wetton

I've been fishing the Dove for a few years with some success, but I'm not sure I am making the most of my time on the bank with my current approach.

Rod up, tight line to a running lead with indifferent hook lengths.

After seeing a small barbel spook after touching my line in shallow water, it made me wonder if my approach could be improved.

Any advice would be appreciated.

I don't know the Dove well so can't you any specific advice, but I don't see the need to have your line particularly tight, allow it to bow around so just enough for your feeder or lead not to get dislodged by the current. Some anglers seem obsessesed with having their rod set up up almost perpendicular - why? Im sure some anglers must get neck injuries as a result... Trying setting it up lower it should not make any difference to your bite indication.
I like using back leads on smaller rivers where there are no snags - try a 1oz coffin lead or bomb a few feet above your lead/feeder.

Not sure about 'indifferent' hook lengths though - they don't sound much cop :)

I prefer my hooklength to be at least 2' usually much longer - but not in snaggy swims or on windy days for obvious reasons.

Cheers,

Joe

Rod position is always determined by the flow for me. The lower to the water I can get the rod the better as I'd prefer as much of the line to be on the bottom as possible. I use to 3-4 tungsten droppers around 18 inches apart on the mainline and fish a fairly slack line.

I always fish shortish 6" or less hooklengths on bolt rigs though so no need for a tight line. Different opinions on hooklengths but I don't want fish playing with the bait so I like short ones.