• You need to be a registered member of Barbel Fishing World to post on these forums. Some of the forums are hidden from non-members. Please refer to the instructions on the ‘Register’ page for details of how to join the new incarnation of BFW...

Shimano 3500b Baitrunner

Status
Not open for further replies.

admin

Administrator
Staff member
Shimano 3500b Baitrunner

by David Parker​

I have been through my fair share of reels during my angling lifetime - and many of them are still with me I'm pleased to say, ranged on their own shelf in my makeshift tackle emporium (the garage!). And I mention this because I want this brief review of the Shimano 3500b to be seen in that context. I have used many winches; and most of them have been considered at one time or another excellent tools for barbel fishing. In short, I have some experience of other Shimano baitrunners, and also the Stradics with which to compare this reel's performance.

So why is it I now opt for the 3500b over all other fixed spool reels I own?

Well let's start with the things that have nothing to do with my decision. Like the aesthetics for instance. This isn't a beautiful reel by any means (unless you happen to be into 80s angularity). It is all straight lines and hard edges. Nor is the line lay particularly brilliant. The spool width is pretty compressed - the total opposite of a long chuck carp reel. And so the line can appear to lay unevenly. The baitrunner facility is smooth and micro-adjustable, but not particularly loud. So never rely on the sound of the baitrunner as indication of a take! The handle folds down against the body but doesn't fix in position, so safer not to undo them if you keep your reels on your rods in a quiver 24/7. It isn't the lightest reel on the market either - coming in at 557g.

But none of these things bother me one bit.